[promoslider id="my_id" category="topbanner" height="200px"]
  • No categories

1957 International Agreement Founding The Eec

April 7, 2021 | By More

On 25 March 1957, representatives of the six nations even signed two treaties in Rome, one establishing the EEC, the other establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) for the common and peaceful development of European nuclear resources. The Treaty of Rome (officially the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community) resulted in the creation of the European Economic Community (EEC), the best known of the European Communities (EC). The treaty was signed on 25 March 1957 by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany and came into force on 1 January 1958. Under the name of the `Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union`, it remains one of the two most important treaties of the current European Union (EU). The Treaty of Paris establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was signed in 1951. It was an international community based on supranationalism and international law, which aimed to help Europe`s economy and avoid future war through the integration of its members. The four countries resumed their demands on 11 May 1967, and Georges Pompidou having succeeded Charles de Gaulle in 1969 as French president, the veto was lifted. Negotiations began in 1970 under the pro-European British government of Edward Heath, who faced differences of opinion over the common agricultural policy and the UK`s relationship with the Commonwealth of Nations. However, two years later, the accession treaties were signed, so that Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom joined the Community effective 1 January 1973. The Norwegian people finally refused to join a referendum on 25 September 1972. [7] The EEC was founded in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome, signed by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany. In 1973, the United Kingdom, Denmark and Ireland joined, followed by Greece in 1981 and Portugal and Spain in 1986. The former GDR was admitted in 1990 as part of reunified Germany.

The Community`s initial objective was to achieve economic integration among its six founding members, Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany, including a common market and customs union. It obtained, together with the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), a common institution under the 1965 Merger Treaty (Brussels Treaty). In 1993, a comprehensive internal market, called the `internal market`, was set up to allow the free movement of goods, capital, services and people within the EEC. In 1994, the internal market was formalised by the EEA agreement. The agreement also expanded the internal market to most member states of the European Free Trade Association, which is the 15-nation European Economic Area.

Category: Uncategorized

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.